Nectarine Jam – YUM!

Nectarine Jam – Yum
My first attempt at making Jam.
In my backyard is a lovely Nectarine tree. With very little love and care from my part it has provided me with an amazing amount of fresh fruit that would only go to waste if I didn’t preserve it. So today with the wonderful advise of the lovely Marion Fennell of Cosmic Jam. I set out to have a go at making Nectarine Jam. This is what I have created and can I say YUM!!!! I am eating some now as I speak and OMG I love it. I will be making more, it was so easy and it takes me back to the days when my Grandma used to make jars upon jars on jam every summer.

I used roughly:
  • 6 cups chopped nectarines , do not peel
  • 3 cups sugar
  • 4 tablespoons lemon juice or juice of a whole lemon
  • 1tsp vanilla essence
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon (I only had cinnamon sugar, But hey, what’s a little more sugar!)
Directions:
1, Cook Nectarines, sugar and lemon juice at a very mild boil for 30-minutes. Stir constantly and watch that you do not burn the mixture.
While cooking the Jam put jars without lids into an oven at 200deg for 30min to sterilise. Boil the lids in a pot of water and then place in the oven to fully dry.
2, Add vanilla and cinnamon and continue to cook for a further 5 min
3, Skim any foam off the surface.
4, scoop the hot jam into sterilized jars, holding them with a towel as they are very hot. Try to leave no air pockets in the mixture.
5 Wipe the rim of the jar and screw the sterilised lid onto the jar and allow cool, setting and sealing.
I have read that Nectarines and Basil go well together as a flavour combination and I remember once having a Nectarine and basil cocktail at a bar once and it was divine. So in one of my jars I have put a small handful of Basil leaves into the bottom of the jar and stirred them into the mixture. I’ll let you know how it tastes once it has brewed!
Leave a Reply

